7 Worst States To Get Caught With Pot

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

The United States is more cannabis friendly than ever. Support for legalization is at an all time high, and cannabis is legal for medical and recreational use in a growing number of states. Some US states remain woefully stuck in the past. If you live in or plan on traveling to any of these states, you definitely don’t want to get caught with pot.

Arizona

The state of Arizona did have recreational cannabis on the ballot last fall, but unfortunately it failed to get the votes needed to pass. This is the second time that the state has attempted to legalize recreational cannabis. Medicinal cannabis is legal for people with a medical card, but you have to meet pretty specific parameters in order to qualify for one. You don’t want to get caught with pot without a medical card. Possession of less than two pounds is a felony that carries a minimum sentence of four months and a thousand dollar fine and a maximum sentence of four years!

Idaho

The state is probably best known for its potatoes, but it is also known for being extremely unfriendly towards cannabis use of any kind. Idaho is one of the few states that has absolutely no laws permitting cannabis use, and all attempts to get cannabis on the ballot have fallen through. The state did pass a law permitting use of CBD oil in certain instances, but governor Butch Otter vetoed it. Getting caught with pot in Idaho is something that you want to avoid at all costs. Possession of less than three ounces is a misdemeanor punishable by up to a year in prison and a thousand dollar fine. Possession of more than three ounces is a felony with a maximum sentence of five years and a ten thousand dollar fine.

South Dakota

South Dakota is another state with no laws permitting cannabis use of any kind. The state attempted to get medical cannabis on the ballot last year but were not able to. Possession of two ounces or less is a misdemeanor charge that carries a year in jail and a two thousand dollar fine. Possession of more than two ounces is a felony with a possibility of a year in jail and a four thousand dollar fine. Getting caught selling within one thousand feet of a school is a mandatory minimum sentence of five years!

Florida

Florida recently legalized cannabis for medical use, but in a very limited capacity. First of all, smokeable flower is not accepted, nor is anything high in THC. Possession of anything between 20 ounces and 25 pounds is a felony of up to five years in prison and a five thousand dollar fine. Florida is also known for racial disparity in their law enforcement, so if you are PoC you are much more likely to have a harsher penalty.

Texas

Though CBD oil is legal in the Lone Star State, Texas is probably the last state where you want to get caught with pot. Not only has every attempt to legalize cannabis failed in the state, Texas also carries ridiculously harsh penalties for cannabis users. Possession of two ounces or less can land you in jail for 180 days and cost you two thousand dollars. Possession of four ounces to five pounds is a felony with a mandatory minimum of 180 days and a maximum of two years with a ten thousand dollar fine. Anything more than five pounds carries a mandatory minimum of five years and can go all the way up to 99 years!

Louisiana

Up until a couple years ago, Louisiana was the worst place in the US to get caught with pot. The state had the harshest cannabis laws in the country. As far as possession goes, first time offenders get off relatively easy, but second time offenders are charged with a felony and up to five years in prison. However, do not get caught growing or selling. Any amount carries a mandatory minimum of five years all the way up to thirty years, along with a fifty thousand dollar fine.

Oklahoma

As far as possession goes, Oklahoma is not super harsh. Possession of any amount is a misdemeanor with a possibility of one year in jail and a thousand dollar fine. Sale or distribution of any amount carries with it a felony charge with anywhere from two years to life in prison! The state is currently working to pass a medical cannabis bill in a model similar to Arkansas, which they will be voting on next year.

Image Source: herb.co


Did your state make the list? Share in the comments!

Share.

Leave A Reply